Bored Members - Guests | Media | White Bored | Interview | Bored Anthem - Songs | Boredwaani | Cartoons | Facebook | Twitter | Login

Whither the laws?

by Homer

Law 18 (Scoring runs)


 1. A run
The score shall be reckoned by runs. A run is scored
(a) so often as the batsmen, at any time while the ball is in play, have crossed and made good their ground from end to end.

(b) when a boundary is scored. See Law 19 (Boundaries).
(c) when penalty runs are awarded. See 6 below.
(d) when Lost ball is called. See Law 20 (Lost ball).
2. Runs disallowed
Notwithstanding 1 above, or any other provisions elsewhere in the Laws, the scoring of runs or awarding of penalties will be subject to any disallowance of runs provided for within the Laws that may be applicable.

Law 19 (Boundaries)

5. Runs scored
When a boundary is scored,
(a) the penalty for a No ball or a Wide, if applicable, shall stand, together with any penalties under either of Laws 18.5(b) (Deliberate short runs) or 42 (Fair and unfair play) that apply before the boundary is scored.

Law 21 (The result)

6. Winning hit or extras
(a) As soon as a result is reached, as defined in 1, 2, 3 or 4 above, the match is at an end. Nothing that happens thereafter, except as in Law 42.17(b) (Penalty runs), shall be regarded as part of it. Note also 9 below.
(b) The side batting last will have scored enough runs to win only if its total of runs is sufficient without including any runs completed before the dismissal of the striker by the completion of a catch or by the obstruction of a catch.
(c) If a boundary is scored before the batsmen have completed sufficient runs to win the match, then the whole of the boundary allowance shall be credited to the side's total and, in the case of a hit by the bat, to the striker's score.

Law 24 (No ball)

11. Ball not dead
The ball does not become dead on the call of No ball.
12. Penalty for a No ball
A penalty of one run shall be awarded instantly on the call of No ball. Unless the call is revoked, this penalty shall stand even if a batsman is dismissed. It shall be in addition to any other runs scored, any boundary allowance and any other penalties awarded.
13. Runs resulting from a No ball - how scored
The one run penalty for a No ball shall be scored as a No ball extra. If other penalty runs have been awarded to either side, these shall be scored as in Law 42.17 (Penalty runs). Any runs completed by the batsmen or a boundary allowance shall be credited to the striker if the ball has been struck by the bat; otherwise they also shall be scored as No ball extras.
Apart from any award of a 5 run penalty, all runs resulting from a No ball, whether as No ball extras or credited to the striker, shall be debited against the bowler.

Law 42 (Fair and unfair play)

17. Penalty runs
(a) When penalty runs are awarded to either side, when the ball is dead the umpire shall signal the penalty runs to the scorers as laid down in Law 3.14 (Signals).
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of Law 21.6 (Winning hit or extras), penalty runs shall be awarded in each case where the Laws require the award. Note, however, that the restrictions on awarding penalty runs in Laws 26.3 (Leg byes not to be awarded), 34.4(d) (Runs permitted from ball struck lawfully more than once) and Law 41.4 (Penalty runs not to be awarded) will apply.
34.4 Randiv to Sehwag, 1 no ball, match is over, but Sehwag has been denied the century. And this is a big no-ball, must I point out? His back foot was close to over-steeping, forget about the front foot. Anyway Sehwag smashed it for six over long-off, but they don't count because the game finishes at no-ball. He raises his arms, but then realises the century is not completed. Doesn't matter to him. He says: "It often happens. When a batsman is on 99 and the scores are level, bowlers try to bowl no-balls and wides. It happens in cricket. Fair enough." What a man 

So much for the rules, eh?


Jonathan said...

Don't quite see your point, Homer. No ball called, ball delivered so call can't be revoked, nothing after that is part of the match, just like MCC trianing material has spelt out for years. Same goes it Sehwag had been bowled, rather than hit a 6.

Jonathan said...

Of course I meant run out, not bowled.

Homer said...


Ball was in play, not ruled dead, atleast the on field umpires did not signal end of the match till after Sehwag had hit the six.

Irrespective of whether it was Sehwag or not at the batting end, if the match is over after the umpire rules a dead ball, I am perfectly within my rights not to deliver the ball, no?


Jonathan said...

Nothing in the law says the end of the match relies on the ball being dead, being ruled dead, or the end of the match being signalled. It does however only include boundaries if a winning total has not already been reached, and spells out that the score may not have been reached even when it appears to have been in the case of a catch. Revoking an incorrect no ball call when the ball is a bit like the catch situation or disallowing dodgy leg-byes, and doesn't have any impact on this situation in any case.

[You could also see it as similar to the a slight discrepancy between the Laws' statement that one run is added instantly on the call of Wide, and the official interpretation that it is considered to have happened from the moment of delivery, before the call. While on that sort of thing, less problematic but similarly unclear from the text is the fact that "penalty runs" is not considered to include the "penalty of one run" for wide/no ball.]

In general, I'm not keen on the law as it stands, but this is how the people who write the laws have been explaining it for a long time, very clearly since 2000 if not before then (when the rule for no balls was different anyway).